Congratuations to Dr. Ethel Brooks on her recent appointment by President Obama to the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council! 

For more on the appointment, see the recent Press Release from the offices of Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ): 


Menendez Congratulates Rutgers Professor on Prestigious Holocaust Memorial Appointment

Monday, January 11, 2016

WASHINGTON, DC – U.S. Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ) today congratulated Metuchen, New Jersey resident and Rutgers University professor Dr. Ethel Brooks on her appointment to the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council. Menendez recommended Dr. Brooks for this appointment in the 113th Congress.

“I am pleased Dr. Brooks will be joining the esteemed Holocaust Memorial Council to help educate society so we never again allow the atrocities of the past to be repeated,” said Sen. Menendez. “Dr. Books is an intelligent, principled educator who will help ensure the Holocaust Museum continues to teach vital lessons about the abhorrence of ethnic and racial intolerance. As the numbers of Holocaust survivors dwindle, the museum’s mission that we never forget becomes all the more important.”

About Dr. Brooks

Dr. Ethel Brooks is an Associate Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies and Sociology at Rutgers University, where she has held various positions since 2001. She has been a Tate-TrAIN Transnational Fellow at the University of the Arts London since 2012, where she was also US-UK Fulbright Distinguished Chair from 2011 to 2012. Dr. Brooks serves as a member of numerous boards and commissions, including the USC Shoah Foundation, the European Roma Rights Centre, and the Rutgers Center for Historical Analysis. She also served as a Public Member of the United States Delegation to the Human Dimension Implementation meetings of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and is a member of the United States Delegation to the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance and its Roma Genocide Working Group.

About the Council

The U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council was established by Congress in 1980 to commemorate the Holocaust and raise private funds for the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum. The Council consists of 55 members appointed by the president, as well as five members each from the Senate and House of Representatives and three ex-officio members from the Departments of Education, Interior, and State. 


Upcoming Events

No events